News Parliament


Volunteers are the backbone of every country community, and Calare is no exception. Twenty-two groups in Calare have recently received funding under the federal government's 2017 community volunteer grants program and I would like to take this opportunity to mention just a few of them and their great work. Firstly, the Wellington Multi Service Centre, which is best known for its meals on wheels service, has been a part of the Wellington community and surrounding districts for many years. The centre is receiving $5,000 for the reimbursement of fuel costs and volunteer training. I would like to make particular mention in this House tonight of manager Claire Manning, chair Judy Scott, vice chair Lisa Bennett, secretary Lyn Beggs, treasurer Judy Grasnick, board members Lorna Carpenter, Lyn Munro and Michael Brian, administrative assistant and bookkeeper Sharon Doherty, and general assistant Christine Oldfield.

The Wellington and District Cricket Association has a long and distinguished history, and they have been awarded $3,000 for kitchen appliances, whitegoods and major appliances. I would like to make special mention of president Jason Ryan, vice president Noel Phoebe, secretary and treasurer Marie Cornish, junior cricket manager Lauren Douglas and publicity officer Kate Kiss.

Also, $5,000 has been granted to the Wellington Golf Club—and this will go towards electronics, outdoor furniture and equipment·   The club are very excited about the grant, and I would like to mention president Barry Jeffrey, who does a great job, vice president Mitch Spradbrow, captain Rod Irwin, treasurer Marilyn Watts, secretary Marie Cornish, and committee members Doug Ney, Mac Harvey, Rod Cunnynghame and Rex England.

The Wellington Town Band has received $4,900 for the reimbursement of fuel costs and for new office equipment. I would I like to mention the bandmaster with the mostest, Eric Smith, assistant bandmaster Rebecca Brine, president Wade Smith and also Barry Jenkins, who is a hardworking volunteer with the band.

Mid Macquarie Landcare in Wellington were also thrilled to receive just over $2,000, which will go towards volunteer training costs and kitchen appliances.·   I would like to mention secretary and administrative assistant Jean Ellis, chair and public officer Cameron Tomkins—good on you Cameron—vice chair Danny Hawke, treasurer and project officer Debbie Wynne, local Landcare coordinator John Ryan, and committee members Mike Augee, who is an old friend, Frank Barker and another old friend, Marion Jarrett, who has done some wonderful work with the arboretum. She is particularly fond of the Mallee section of the arboretum. Well done Marion.

The Geurie Lions Club will use their grant of $2,800 for power and construction tools. I make special mention of president John Mills, treasurer Ann Jones—who is soon to be inducted as District Governor of Lions District 201N4—secretary Peter Perry—good on you, Peter, ably assisting Ann—Malcolm McLeod, Michael Sitard, Paul White, Neil Baker, Rod Althofer, Jim O'Brian, Ron 'Tiger' Paxton—good on you Tiger—Noel Parkes, David Hearn and Geoff Perry.

I recently travelled to Mudgee to present the local public school with $2,500 in funding. They are doing wonderful work there, with a growing school, and I have to mention the principal of Mudgee Public School, Alan Kerr, and the P&C: president Sacha Etherington, secretary Elizabeth Halbisch, treasurer Emma Turnbull, vice president Jemma Williams, vice president Donna Consadine, and general member Sonja Lunn.

Pay It Forward Community Shed in Orange are providing assistance to the most vulnerable members of our community, and they will be receiving a grant of $5,000. I would like to acknowledge Karlene Irwin, and I am looking forward to visiting the Pay It Forward shed very soon.

I would also like to mention Little River Landcare Group, who have been doing fantastic work in our local community for a long time: CEO Tracey Potts, chair Claire Osborn Booth, vice chair Don Bruce, treasurer Ian Knox, secretary Kim Job, and also Allan Nicholson, Nigel Kerin, Rebecca Staines, Tom Tourle and David Stewart, and project officer Melanie Kiel.

Congratulations to all of those community groups. We in this House tonight thank them for their wonderful community work.