News Parliament


It is with great pleasure that I congratulate those students from St Stanislaus' College in Bathurst who were recently announced as student leaders for 2017. The announcement was made during the school's annual speech night on Saturday, 5 November. St Stanislaus' College is now in its 149th year, which is an amazing milestone, and it is a testament to the school's commitment and focus on providing quality education standards for both its day and boarding students who come from all over the Calare electorate and, indeed, beyond.

The evening celebrated the achievements of the students and showcased an extraordinary array of talent in the performing arts. It highlighted the depth of the educational programs offered by St Stanislaus' College. It enjoys the benefits of a first-class creative arts department, which plays a vital role at Stannies in the education of boys and young men. The evening concluded with the students coming together to perform Pink Floyd's Another Brick in the WallAs we might all agree, it is quite the classic, and the students certainly did it justice. The large-scale production was very impressive, and I congratulate the creative arts faculty at St Stannies and their dedicated staff for putting it all together.

I note that the student leaders announced for 2017 are head prefect Dom McCrossin and deputy head prefects Jerome Arrow, Luke Macauley and Tom Statham. The prefects are Lachlan Melville, Anthony Taylor, Jamal Hopwood, Izaac Molenkamp, Joel Thomas, Oliver O'Toole, Jack Thurtell and Will Weldon. The house captains and vice-captains are: St Charles House, captain Harry Brown and vice-captain Andrew Krenzberger; St Johns House, captain Tom Bartlett and vice-captain Thomas Felsch; St Josephs House, captain Henry Marson and vice-captain Harper Kemp; St Justins House, captain Jack Cornish and vice-captain Ryan Mawhood; St Vincents House, captain Nathan Germech and vice-captain Luke Powell; and St Xaviers House, captain Yool Yool and vice-captain Hamish Scott. I would like to offer my congratulations to all of those students. I trust they will serve in their new roles with honour and uphold the traditional values of Stannies.

I would also like to thank Dr Anne Wenham, the current head of the college, for inviting me to be part of this wonderful evening. The community is looking forward to Stannies's 150th anniversary celebrations next year. I congratulate all of the students who received student leadership positions at the annual speech night and all of those who received prizes for their academic achievement. I congratulate the school, the staff of the school and the wider school community of St Stanislaus' College in Bathurst for a job well done over the previous year. We wish them all the best for 2017 in their 150th year.