News Parliament


This year I attended Australia Day celebrations in Eglinton, Oberon, Lithgow, Wallerawang and Yeoval. It was a great day across the region and a chance to reflect on how lucky we are to be Aussies. Australia Day is a time to celebrate some of the outstanding members and community groups we have. I'd like to recognise the award winners from Portland and Wellington in the Calare electorate.

In Portland, Garry O'Reilly was named 2019 citizen of the year. Gary is involved in a number of local organisations, including the Men's Shed. Austin Bradley was named young citizen of the year for his work with the Fusion Youth Centre. Community event of the year was the Portland pop-up markets. Well done, Rich and Kellie Evans. The sporting event of the year went to Portland Touch Football Association's Nick Way Memorial Knockout. The Portland Art Society received a recognition award for its continued success over 43 years. Kim Phillips received a recognition award for her service with the Portland SES. Jayden Rhodes received the 2018 Caltex All Rounder Award for his excellent contribution to sport and school. St Joseph's sports awards were awarded to Mia Dunleavy, Yasmine Turner, Libby Bailey and Annika Taylor for their participation in the St Joseph's Diocesan Relay Team. St Joseph's sports awards went to Taylor Bennett and Nate Green for their representation in sport. The Portland Central School sports awards went to Nickera Hann for cricket and Joshua Moffitt for swimming. A special award was presented to Portland Australia Day coordinator John Kearns for his help with community events.

In Wellington the awards went to five recipients. Scott Pettett has volunteered for six years with Communities for Children events. Also awarded were Naomi Jeffery, for her work with the Wellington Eisteddfod Committee; Erica Baigent, for her work with the Mount Arthur Trust; Bev Hutchinson, who has volunteered and been involved with the Wellington Show Society for 15 years; and Lisa Thomas, who was recognised for her involvement with Wellington Arts. The 2019 community event of the year went to Fong Lee's Lane. The 2019 junior sports person of the year award went to Bianca-Leigh Douglas. The 2019 sports person of the year went to Justin Toomey-White for his contribution to rugby league. Well done to those two recipients. Geena Purcell was named 2019 young citizen of the year. She was the first Wellington Show girl to represent her home town as a state finalist. Well done, Geena. Bill Redfern was named 2019 senior citizen of the year. He's involved in a range of committees and clubs. Tyrone Kiernan was named 2019 citizen of the year. Doris Hoffman was recognised for her service to the community and received a Medal of the Order of Australia. Doris has volunteered in a number of organisations—Teleaide, Wellington Oxley Museum and Binjang Community Radio to name just a few. Congratulations and well done to all of the Australia Day nominees and award winners in the Calare electorate.