News Parliament


Today I would like to draw the attention of this House to the important work that Lithgow Aged Care carries out for the people of the Lithgow area. Lithgow Aged Care Ltd is a community based not-for-profit organisation operating a 95-bed aged-care facility over two adjoining sites. Dedicated aged-care services have been available in Lithgow since October 1968, and Lithgow Aged Care was formed with the merger of two of the Lithgow district's most respected aged-care institutions, Cooinda and Tanderra, in July 2013. Lithgow Aged Care provides services for residential aged care, occasional non-dedicated respite care and two separate dementia-specific units with 24 residents. It is currently running at 100 per cent occupancy and is considered to be a leading facility for aged care in the Lithgow area. It is a great supporter of the local community, with a team of dedicated staff and volunteers who work tirelessly to provide an exceptional service to their local community. They provide opportunities for employment in nursing, care, administration, education and building and facility maintenance in the region. I would like to make particular mention of Lithgow Aged Care's board of directors: Olwyn King, Leanne Plackson, Neville Kerrison, Ross King, Glynn Clarke, Peggy Quine, Jeff Carter, Margaret Cafe and Shane Wade. I also thank the hardworking and dedicated staff of Lithgow Aged Care and wish them well as they continue to provide this vital service to the Lithgow community.