News Parliament


Four of our region's finest rugby sevens talent will kit up for New South Wales and take on the best in the nation. Perth will host the 2016 National Youth Sevens Championships, with the event to be held at the University of Western Australia between 10 and 11 December. Yool Yool and Hunter Ward, who both play for St Stanislaus College and also Orange city rugby union, are two of four country players selected in the 12-man squad. All Saints' College student Jakiya Whitfield and MacKillop College's Teagan Miller are two out of three country players chosen to represent their state for the youth girls squad. New South Wales will be seeking to defend both boys and girls titles it won in March this year, and the Bathurst players are confident of being able to do just that, with state pride being a huge motivator for these very talented touch football players.

The tournament is also an opportunity for Australian selectors to scout out potential prospects for the national side. The four students have dedicated a huge amount of time in training for this tournament, and just being selected for the team is a great honour. This House congratulates these four outstanding sportspeople from the central west, and we will all be cheering them on in Perth next month.