News Parliament


Our country communities are made up of some outstanding organisations and citizens, and Australia Day is a chance to recognise all of the wonderful things that they do and say thank you to them. I'd like to acknowledge some of the local award winners from the Calare electorate in this chamber today.

In the Mid-Western Region, Citizen of the Year went to Glenn Box, who was a driving force behind the 200 Bales drought campaign. Tayla Young was named Young Citizen of the Year. Among her many achievements, Tayla was a finalist for the New South Wales-ACT Trainee of the Year Award at the 2018 Group Training Awards, and she also participates in Anzac and Remembrance Day ceremonies with her fellow cadets.

Can Cruise is an annual car and motorbike rally hosted by the Cudgegong Cruisers. With the support of the Mudgee and Districts Can Assist branch, it was named Community Event of the Year. The 11th annual Can Cruise was recently held, and I'm told it was a huge success, with 220 cars participating and $25,000 raised. Congratulations to Cudgegong Cruisers President Gary Goodman, Vice President John Hodges, Secretary Lynda Goodman, Treasurer John Stuart and Glenn Box. They were ably assisted by the local Can Assist branch, including President James Pirie, Secretary Jan Pirie and Treasurer Cheryl Stuart.

The Glen Johnston Memorial Award was presented to Katherine Wilson, who is a music teacher and band director. Katherine was also an integral part of reviving the Mudgee Town Band. Lincoln Huia was recognised with a Sports Award for his achievements in both rugby league and touch football. The Volunteer Services Award was presented to Kevin and Jan Robson for their work in the community through the pensioners association, Legacy and the Henry Lawson Centre. The late Cameron Cox and Les Cook were fittingly recognised on the Wall of Reflections.

In Blayney, Elizabeth Russ was named Blayney Shire Australia Day Citizen of the Year. Well done, Elizabeth. Amanda Rouxel was awarded Young Citizen of the Year for her volunteering within the community, including with the SES, and serving as a youth leader. Peter Whiley received the Blayney Shire Australia Day Volunteer of the Year Award for his work with the Millthorpe and District Historical Society. Franz and Judy Belecky also received a Volunteer Award, for their involvement with and commitment to the Neville community. The Newbridge Winter Solstice, which is run by the Newbridge Progress Association, was named the Blayney Shire Community Event of the Year. It has been running for five years. The Blayney Shire Australia Day Appreciation Award went to three very deserving recipients: Karen Webster, Darrin Yates and Cheryl Rutherford. I congratulate the three of them.

Over in the Oberon Shire, Glen Stewart was named the 2019 Citizen of the Year. Bailey Armstrong was named Young Citizen of the Year. The Sportsperson of the Year went to Jess Ryan. Young Sportsperson of the Year went to Jorgia McFawn. The Sports Team of the Year was the Oberon High School under 16 rugby league team. I'd also like to mention the Oberon Community Night Volunteers, who got the Volunteer Group Award, and Meg Lowe, who received the Australia Day Committee Special Award for her commitment to the community. Congratulations to all Australia Day Awards nominees and winners in the Calare electorate.